Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death for children under 14. When properly used, a car seat reduces the risk of death by 71% for rear-facing infants and 54 percent for forward-facing toddlers.
All California children under 8-years-old must ride in a car seat or booster seat in the back seat. For safety tips visit Safe Kids Worldwide.
If you would like assistance installing a car seat and learning more about child passenger safety, schedule a free car seat check with Cosumnes Fire Department's Car Seat Technician.
What you'll need for the car seat check:
Vehicle owner's manual
Car seat manufacturer manual
California Car Seat Law
Children under 2 years of age shall ride in a rear-facing car seat unless the child weighs 40 or more pounds OR is 40 or more inches tall. The child shall be secured in a manner that complies with the height and weight limits specified by the manufacturer of the car seat. (California Vehicle Code Section 27360.)
Children under the age of 8 must be secured in a car seat or booster seat in the back seat.
Children who are 8 years of age OR have reached 4’9” in height may be secured by a booster seat, but at a minimum must be secured by a safety belt. (California Vehicle Code Section 27363.)
Passengers who are 16 years of age and over are subject to California’s Mandatory Seat Belt law.
Car Seat Resources in the Greater Sacramento Region
There are several agencies in the Sacramento Valley that assist parents and caregivers with installing child safety seats correctly. Some agencies may provide free or low-cost seats to eligible families.